

MEMO

SUBJECT Returning Officer Report: PARSA By-Election 2017

Mike Heffron, PARSA General Manager, Haniska Chopra, PARSA General Secretary, Shikha TO Sud, PARSA Communications Officer

FROM Stephen Milnes, Returning Officer

Division of Student Life

T 6125-6051 M 0402 970 355 E Stephen.Milnes@anu.edu.au

DATE 22 March 2017

cc Alyssa Shaw, PARSA President

This report, submitted in accordance with PARSA Election Regulations 7(e)i-iii, provides:

- background context to the PARSA by-election, and
- a summary of the PARSA by-election results (e.g., votes cast, the successful candidates for each ballot, the number of votes received by all candidates in each ballot).

1. Background context

On 15-16 March 2017 a by-election was held in accordance with PARSA Election Regulations. An email announcing the election was sent to postgraduate students (attachment).

As the PRC-nominated Returning Officer, Dale Brosnahan, was too unwell to perform the duties of the role, she delegated all of the Returning Officer responsibilities to Stephen Milnes, per section 3(e) of the Electoral Regulations.

Relevant contacts met prior to the by-election to discuss roles, responsibilities, actions, and the timeline.

The MSL Election module, voteparsa.anu.edu.au, was used to administer the poll. This was the first time PARSA has used MSL systems to conduct an election. Training was provided to the Returning Officer and PARSA Communications Officer.

Ticket forms were submitted by noon, Thursday 9 March, and nominations for the by-election were submitted by noon, Friday 10 March.

There were two ticket forms submitted: (a) ANU4U and (b) Effective and Rational

Nominations were received for

- Treasurer (3)
- Environmental Officer (5)
- Indigenous Australian Officer (1)
- Communications Officer (3)
- ANU College of Asia and the Pacific Representative (2)
- ANU College of Law Representative (1)
- ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Representative (1)

2. Election results

Elections were not required for three positions. PARSA Election Regulations 9(q) state: "If the number of candidates nominated for any position is equal to the number required to be elected, an election for that position is not required."

The following were declared elected and notified of the outcome:

- Darcy Jackman, Indigenous Australian Officer
- Riley Berry, ANU College of Law Representative
- Ryan Ridden, ANU College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Representative

Elections were held for four positions. Preferential counting of the votes occurred in accordance with PARSA Election Regulations 7(b)i.. Votes were counted at different stages (e.g., S1, S2, S3). When a candidate reached the quota in the first stage they were declared elected. When no candidate reached the quota in the first stage they were declared elected. When no candidate reached the quota in the first stage (s) with the lowest number of votes were removed from the ballot and their votes re-allocated according to preferences or discarded if no preferences were allocated or remained (non-transferable differences).

Post: Treasurer

Total Valid Vote: 338 Quota for Stage 1: 169

Candidate	S1	S2	S2 Total	Result
AVISH AMIN (ANU4U)	206	0	206	Elected @ Stage 1
KEVIN LE (Effective and Rational)	88	0	88	
YAOJIE LEI (Independent)	44	0	44	
Non-Transferable Differences	0	0	0	

Post: Environmental Officer

Total Valid Vote: 480 Quota for Stage: 240

			S2					
					S3		S4	
Candidate	S1	S2	Total	S3	Total	S4	Total	Result
HAYDEN WILKINSON (Effective and Rational)	43	-43	0	0	0	0	0	Excluded @ Stage 2
								010.90 -
								Elected @
EMMA DAVIES (ANU4U)	159	11	170	38	208	0	208	Stage 3
								Excluded @
TERESE CORKISH (Independent)	100	11	111	-111	0	0	0	Stage 3
MINGXIN DONG (Independent)	178	2	180	13	193	0	193	
Non-Transferable Differences	0	19	19	60	79	0	79	

Post: Communications Officer

Total Valid Vote: 334 Quota for Stage 1: 167

Candidate	Stage 1	Stage 2	Stage 2 Total	Result
ARJUN MATHILAKATH MADATHIL (ANU4U)	191	0	191	Elected @ Stage 1
RUSHIKESH NIVALKAR (Independent)	95	0	95	
WEI DAI (Independent)	48	0	48	
Non-Transferable Differences	0	0	0	

Post: College of Asia and the Pacific Representative

Total Valid Vote: 138 Quota for Stage 1: 69

Candidate	Stage 1	Stage 2	Stage 2 Total	Result
[STELLA KUSUMAWARDHANI (ANU4U)	110	0	110	Elected @ Stage 1
SHANKAR RAVIKUMAR (Independent)	28	0	28	
Non-Transferable Differences	0	0	0	

3. Conclusion

The by-election, from my point of view, proceeded smoothly. Throughout the election no grievances were received.

I would recommend that PARSA hold a meeting of those involved with the running of the by-election in order to debrief and to identify areas for improvement.

One improvement suggests itself, given two candidates requested post-election specific information about the count and the distribution of preferences. When votes are counted MSL provides that information immediately. PARSA could consider amending its Election Regulations so that the voting and distribution of preferences is published.

The by-election could not have proceeded without a significant contribution from the following:

- Dale Brosnahan
- Hansika Chopra
- Michael Curtotti
- Mike Heffron
- Roxanne Missingham
- Peter Ness
- Shikha Sud

I would like to thank them for the work that they did to make the by-election a success.

MEMO | Subject

Stephen Milnes Returning Officer Attachment: Email to postgraduate students

PARSA BY-ELECTION 2017 Voting is now open

Dear Postgraduate and Research Students,

Online polling for the March 2017 Postgraduate and Research Students' Association (PARSA) <u>By-Election</u> is now open, and will close on **Thursday, March 16 at 5 pm.**

How to vote?

PARSA by-elections will be conducted on voteparsa.anu.edu.au.

To register your vote, login into <u>voteparsa.anu.edu.au</u> with your student number and password and vote for your favourable candidates.

Results of the election will be posted on the <u>Election Central page</u> of the PARSA website and at the PARSA office shortly after polls close and are confirmed by the Returning Officer.

Elect your candidate

Voting is open for three officer positions on the Postgraduate Representative Council (PRC), the governing board of PARSA.

- <u>Treasurer</u>
- Environmental Officer
- <u>Communications Officer</u>

Nominations are also open for one College Representative positions on the PRC.

The ANU College of Asia and the Pacific (CAP)

Please note that there was only one candidate each contesting for the positions of <u>Indigenous Australian</u> <u>Officer</u>, College Representatives of <u>The ANU College of Law (CoL)</u> and <u>The ANU College of Physical and</u> <u>Mathematical Science (CPMS)</u>.

To learn more about the nominees for each position, and view the list of candidates and their personal statements (if provided to the Returning Officer), login into the <u>voteparsa.anu.edu.au</u>.

How does voting work?

Please see the How Voting Works section of our website.

If you have any questions about the nomination and election process, contact PARSA General Secretary Hansika Chopra at <u>parsa.elections@anu.edu.au</u>.

Regards, The PARSA team