How nominations work

What positions can students run for?

The following roles can be contested in the 2017 General Election:

Officer roles (12):
  • President
  • Vice President
  • General Secretary
  • Treasurer
  • Indigenous Australian Officer*
  • Communications Officer
  • Environmental Officer
  • Women’s Officer**
  • Social Officer
  • Equity Officer
  • International Officer***
  • Education Officer

* A student is only eligible to nominate for the position of Indigenous Australian Officer if they identify as an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander.

** A student is only eligible to nominate for the position of Women’s Officer if they identify as a woman.

*** A student is only eligible to nominate for the position of International Officer if they are an international student.

College Representative roles (14- two per college)*
  • College of Asia and the Pacific (CAP)
  • College of Law (COL)
  • College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences (CPMS)
  • College of Medicine, Biology and Environment (CMBE)
  • College of Business and Economics (CBE)
  • College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS)
  • College of Engineering and Computer Science (CECS)
* Candidates must be enrolled as a postgraduate student in the college they wish to represent


General Representative roles (five)
Postgraduate Student Member of ANU Council (one)


How many positions can students run for?

During the nomination phase prior to the election, a member may be nominated for an Officer position, and also be nominated for either a General Representative position or a College Representative position. The nominee can only be elected to one of these roles. 

For example

  1. If a person is nominated for both an Officer position and a College Representative position, and they win both positions in the overall count, the nominee may only hold one of the two in the future PRC.
  2. If the student wins the Officer position they are automatically disqualified from also holding a College Representative position, so that position then goes to the person who achieved the next highest number of votes.


The Postgraduate Member of ANU Council position

Prior to 2017, the PARSA President had automatically taken on the role as Postgraduate Council Member. However, following the outcome of the Walker Review, the ANU's response to that Review, and the passage of constitutional changes at a PARSA General Meeting in November 2016, the positions of President and Postgraduate Student Member of University Council have been separated.

The President or any other representative of PARSA can still serve as the Postgraduate Student Member of Council, but must be separately elected to this position. Equally, a student does not need to be elected to a PARSA position to be elected as the Council Member.


If you have any questions, come along to a candidate information session, or contact PARSA Operation Manager.

Contact PARSA

PARSA Office
Melville Hall, Building 12
Ellery Crescent
Australian National University
Canberra ACT 2601

Office Hours:

9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday to Friday (except public holidays)
Call Us: +61 (02) 6125 4187
Write to Us: