PARSA Election 2023

PARSA’s 2023 Election has arrived! We are looking to elect a full Postgraduate Representative Council (PRC) to represent the ANU postgraduate cohort until at least June 2023, with the support of a full staff team and sufficient funds to continue operations and services to complete your term. 

As you may know, the University had decided to discontinue funding to PARSA in 2023. PARSA can continue representation, support and services during this transitional time – this includes capacity to allow the newly elected PRC to serve their term from November 2022 – June 2023. This can be a great opportunity to lead the postgraduate cohort during this period and to be involved in building a new postgraduate representation model for the future. 

The ANU has initiated a Taskforce to deliver a best-practice student body that will continue to support and advocate for postgraduate students. PARSA is actively involved in this process and will continue until at least June 2023 to ensure a smooth transition for postgraduate and HDR students. By nominating for a position on the PRC, you understand that the funding for PARSA has discontinued and by undertaking this role you will be involved in transition of representation and service delivery structure for postgraduate and higher degree by research students. 

This year we will be running two information sessions. Join our information session to find out more information about the election process, the roles and portfolios available, and ask any questions.   

Online Election Information Session 

When: Thursday 18th August 2022 3- 4pm 

Register here:   

In person Election Mixer  

When: Thursday 1st September - 5:00PM - **Please note due to illness this event has been rescheuled to September 1. **

Where: Badger & Co   

Register here:


What positions are open? 

Nominations are open for the following positions on the Postgraduate Representative Council (PRC). 

Officers of the Association:  

  1. President;   

  1. Vice President 

  1. General Secretary  

  1. Equity Officer;  

  1. International Officer 

  1. First Nations Officer;  

  1. Social Officer;  

  1. Queer Officer;  

  1. Disabilities Officer; 

  1. Wellbeing Officer;   

  2. Womens Officer;

  1. Parents and Carers Officer;  

  1. Environmental Officer.  


And, for each ANU College, there are two (2) College Representatives (Coursework and HDR Officers) (14 officers in total).   


  1. College of Asia Pacific (CAP)  

  1. College of Arts and Social Sciences (CASS) 

  1. College of Business and Economics (CBE) 

  1. College of Engineering and Computer Sciences (CECS)  

  1. College of Health and Medicine (CHM) 

  1. College of Law (COL) 

  1. College of Science (COS)  


What is required to run for a position? 

All nominees must be postgraduate students at ANU at the time of nomination. All nominees must comply with the requirements listed in the nomination form and with the PARSA Election Regulations. For more information on the duties and time commitment of the different positions see the role descriptions here.  


How do I nominate a candidate for election? 

Nomination forms may be downloaded here.  

Nomination forms should be lodged with the PARSA Returning Officer at

If you are running on a ticket (5 or more persons) you can download Ticket Registration forms here


How does voting work?? 

Please see the PARSA election guide

If you have any questions about the nomination and election process, contact PARSA Returning Officer at  


What is the timeline for the election?  


Nomination period 

August 22 – 9 September  

Campaign period  

12 – 23 September  

Voting period 

26 – 30 September 




Contact PARSA

PARSA Office
Level 2, Di Riddell Student Centre
Kambri Precinct
Australian National University
Canberra ACT 2601

Office Hours:

9:00 am to 5:00 pm, Monday to Friday (except public holidays)
Call Us: +61 (02) 6125 4187
Write to Us: